For reasons of personal growth may I please have a review of my debate style

January 29, 2018, 7:30 am

Agree7 Disagree4

64%
36%

The debate "For reasons of personal growth may I please have a review of my debate style" was started by Nemiroff on January 29, 2018, 7:30 am. 7 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 4 people are on the disagree side. People are starting to choose their side. It looks like most of the people in this community are on the agreeing side of this statement.

Nemiroff posted 1 argument to the agreers part.


Slymcfly and 6 visitors agree.
4 visitors disagree.

Nemiroff
replied to...

thank you Najam

1 year, 1 month ago
Najam1
replied to...

I am second ranked here, though I doubt you appraise my words fairly. My input is you focus too much on attacking the direct source of the rebuttals given you onscreen. The truth of what's presented to you may indeed incite you to disbelieve and reject it, but verbally belittling the messenger isn't the most entertaining option of parley, and neither is simply ignoring it.
Learn to live in the color of painting words in black and white whilst adjusting your focus on the message rather than the messenger.

1 year, 1 month ago
Nemiroff
replied to...

kinda disagree on Hillary, including the fact that liberals love her. i would say the biggest condemnable is Mr. "I am not a scientist, but" McConnell, but I'll save that for another thread :)

thank you for the feedback. keep it coming.

1 year, 1 month ago
Slymcfly
replied to...

If you want some CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM, though, I would suggest condemning your own when it is warranted. Such as Hillary. She is VERY condemnable and a known criminal and hypocrite, but liberals will almost always defend her till their dying breath. If you want to gain the respect and the attention of conservatives, and you want to gain some clout and make them more receptive to your arguments, I would suggest condemning the condemnable. Distance yourself from the bad eggs. It will go a LONG way, trust me.

1 year, 1 month ago
Slymcfly
replied to...

I think that for a left-leaning individual, you are actually a lot more fair and logical than most liberals or Democrats that I have engaged with in the past. You also abstain from insulting and belittling, which, to me, when combined with using logic and not emotion, are the two most valuable traits for debating nowadays. You should keep it up. Despite being a Democrat, you aren't so bad, haha.

1 year, 1 month ago

am I closed minded/ open minded? over zealous, too blunt, irrational. am I over participating? do I misinterpret or miss other's points?

any input is greatly appreciated :)

1 year, 1 month ago
Discuss "For reasons of personal growth may I please have a review of my debate style" education people
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.