Opinion on sharia law as a form of ruling compared to secular government

November 14, 2016, 2:07 am

Agree2 Disagree6

25%
75%

The debate "Opinion on sharia law as a form of ruling compared to secular government" was started by dalton7532 on November 14, 2016, 2:07 am. By the way, dalton7532 is disagreeing with this statement. 2 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 6 people are on the disagree side. There needs to be more votes to see what the common perception is. It looks like most people are against to this statement.

Blue_ray posted 3 arguments, dalton7532 posted 3 arguments, TheExistentialist posted 2 arguments to the disagreers part.

thereal, monikofos agree.
dalton7532, Blue_ray, TheExistentialist, Jesmin, arpita00 and 1 visitor disagree.

Radhikadhawan
replied to...

It really doesn't matter how extreme one goes in the level of cruelty... Cruelty is cruelty no matter you define it as radical or fundamental....

2 years, 7 months ago
TheExistentialist
replied to...

"extreme" is subjective. So what is "extreme" to you may be moderate in a country like Iran. So a Radicalist is "extreme" by the standards of the society which they hope to change.

In Syria, sharia law was enacted in 1973. It is widely accepted and supported. However, their version of sharia law is a codefied islamic law. So it is not as harsh as Sharia law is on a fundamentalist level. When you look at groups like ISIS however, their version of sharia law is even more fundamentalist in nature than the Syrian code of islamic law. They are also trying to reform the nation in accordance with the more "extreme" version of Sharia law, and thus it is fair to call them radicals..

2 years, 7 months ago
Radhikadhawan
replied to...

Agreed

2 years, 7 months ago
dalton7532
replied to...

At what point does a belief become radical or extreme if the beliefs it originates from are already extreme?

2 years, 7 months ago

You have to remember "extreme section" is the definition of radical. Since extreme is subjective, anything can be literally deemed that.

I personally think it is irrelevant if it is inline with their views. Let me try to use an accurate analogy, if somebody supports punishing people who don't like the color blue because of their made up agreement with their cat, would you not consider that radical even if it is inline with their beliefs?

I would consider them both fundamentalist and radical. I am not trying to engage im a debate. I am just trying to see if you can see it my way.

2 years, 7 months ago
Radhikadhawan
replied to...

Whatever it is I think they must know you can simply not go on killing people coz it is mentioned in your holy books it is holy war.... :-( this is the main cause of more Muslims becoming terrorists....

2 years, 7 months ago
TheExistentialist
replied to...

I would say "radical" is the wrong term. I'd argue that many are "fundamentalist". "Radical" has to do with the "extreme" spectrum of a set of believes. Since the majority of Muslims hold beliefs which are inline with Sharia Law, and Sharia Law is based on a fundamentalist reading of the Quran and Hadith, I'd say it's a more appropriate term. Radicals would be more in line with the Taliban, etc.... Especially considering that many of the definitions for "radical" encompass a political movement.

2 years, 7 months ago
Radhikadhawan
replied to...

Agreed... I think they must know that everyone is not going to favour their holy book and ideas.... And forcing them to change their mindset by imposing laws is wrong

2 years, 7 months ago
Blue_ray
replied to...

agreed

2 years, 7 months ago

I was in an argument, and I deemed the majority of Muslims radical. (Note that I made it clear radical beliefs extend beyond just terrorism. I used the argument that people who wanted to implement Sharia law were radical in belief, with the presumptive knowledge that opposition to freedom of religion and opposition to freedom of expression is radical.

I used Pew research center to find the facts of how many Muslims support Sharia law, and it was approximately over 800,000,000, which made the group of radicals the majority of Muslims. If you state that I cannot associate a person with Radical beliefs a radical, look at the definition of a radical.

I just wanted to see if I was wrong on deeming Sharia Law as radical because of the gender inequality and opposition to rights it would impose.

2 years, 7 months ago

if you wanna know some more sensible facts against Sharia, you should take a look at it.
http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2005/08/top_ten_reasons_why_sharia_is.html

2 years, 7 months ago

Shari is the worst of government which follows Quran as their constitution. They simply do whatever has been written in it. Any attempt to violate it and you are gonna be dead. It isnt even comparable to a secular government. Sharia law violates the religious rights of minorities like jews and christians. Sharia law includes beheading which's enough to explain you how foolish and unsoundly and absurd idea Sharia is.

2 years, 7 months ago
Discuss "Opinion on sharia law as a form of ruling compared to secular government" politics
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.