The benefits of cellphone in school. give your opinion

April 4, 2015, 6:22 am

Agree56 Disagree19

75%
25%

The debate "The benefits of cellphone in school. give your opinion" was started by dominic on April 4, 2015, 6:22 am. 56 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 19 people are on the disagree side. That might be enough to see the common perception. It looks like most of the people in this community are on the agreeing side of this statement.

evamara posted 1 argument, soullesschicken posted 1 argument, toughgamerjerry posted 1 argument to the agreers part.
thatjonathanguy posted 1 argument, barca_paaras11 posted 1 argument, I_Voyager posted 2 arguments to the disagreers part.

dominic, frozen_emily, Kaitlyn56, Untamed, transfanboy, scooter6381, evamara, soullesschicken, Damn3d, PsychDave, toughgamerjerry, EdinaldoApSantos, ibrahim, shifa, WordSpeller, Hanif_abdat, Eagle528, DanielleR123, thatmathewguy, ombatra1997, WesleySr, Bxat9, Upbeatethan, Ashna, thisrisingtide, Trance, mikeyjagar, hey_its_brit, toffeebrush, Nury and 26 visitors agree.
thatjonathanguy, danielle, prisonmanic, barca_paaras11, PlatypusParty, I_Voyager, owentowe, sabrina and 11 visitors disagree.

I_Voyager
replied to...

I agree with your critiques regarding distractions, games, socializing. But I disagree that we over-use cellphones for research and calculation. The purpose of technology is to reduce the number of tasks we have to do, so we can use our mental resources to accomplish other tasks. What does a student get from reading a textbook that a touch-screen tablet computer couldn't do better? What does searching for a book in a library do for a student which googling skills don't do better?

Check my post for an alternative idea which I think is better than traditional educational methods, which incorporates cellphone-like technology, but permits banning cellphones in schools.

4 years ago

I see the merit for cell phones in school, but generally I don't think they're entirely beneficial. For all the access to information, there is more access to distracting games and social tools.

I would rather see schools banning cellphones, but replacing all textbooks with a publicly provided tablet computer which is programmed from its firmware up to be purposed towards education. Students should be downloading textbooks, reading them, answering questions, downloading assignments, completing assignments, watching educational videos, participating in extra-curricular education, researching and interacting with teachers on this platform.

Students who can maximize a cloud-based educational tablet-based resource would learn more than those who are restricted to a paper-based curriculum, but would not be distracted by all the social extras of cellphones.

4 years ago

depend on calculator for even small calculations ????

4 years ago

The only benefit I have had using my phone in school is being able to use my calculator. Cell phones are not beneficial in school, but a distraction. We rely on our phones too much to research topics and put books to waste. I see people in school using them for just games and texting people. It is obvious that phones aren't letting us learn, but taking away from education.

4 years ago

Well I'm home schooled and young home schoolers really don't need a phone. I still have one and I find it very beneficial with the subjects that I have. But it also helps because I am home alone a lot. But I also think that it would be good for someone to have a phone in school whether it be college, highschool, or middle school. But I don't think anyone younger needs a phone at school.

4 years ago

Calculator is a good example.

4 years ago

you can use it to search information! also talk with your friends :)

4 years ago
Discuss "The benefits of cellphone in school. give your opinion" education music technology
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.