The intelligent find debates healthy the lesser find them unhealthy. Share your opinion

May 23, 2015, 8:18 am

Agree21 Disagree5

81%
19%

The debate "The intelligent find debates healthy the lesser find them unhealthy. Share your opinion" was started by soullesschicken on May 23, 2015, 8:18 am. 21 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 5 people are on the disagree side. People are starting to choose their side. It looks like most of the people in this community are on the agreeing side of this statement.

soullesschicken posted 3 arguments to the agreers part.
I_Voyager posted 1 argument, PsychDave posted 2 arguments to the disagreers part.

soullesschicken, Damn3d, ibrahim, WordSpeller, evamara, Rhiannon09, tr, DarkAngelAnarchist, ombatra1997, denno27, Trance, theQueenofdebate, barman and 8 visitors agree.
I_Voyager, ufufugh, PsychDave, toughgamerjerry, sdiop disagree.

Oh I_Voyager I just read your comment now. That "Burn" at the end. When I made that comment I didn't know you can comment in this app. Thank you.

4 years, 2 months ago

Oh cool, OK.

4 years, 2 months ago

I've asked for an undecided button or the ability to comment before voting. One of the devs said they would look into it.

4 years, 3 months ago

If there was a neutral button I would pick that by the way. I just wanted to see people's opinions.

4 years, 3 months ago

I have found that debating with people who are roughly your intellectual equal is far more enjoyable than otherwise. Debating with someone who is far more intelligent and knowledgeable is frustrating because it can feel like you cannot win and pointless. Debating with someone who is substantially less intelligent can feel pointless because sometimes they don't understand the points, leading to them disregarding them, or it is too easy, making it dull.

Fortunately I have met very few people on this app in either category. I_voyager thoroughly schooled me in an economic debate, and several trolls have fallen in the other category, but everyone who debates regularly tends to do so quite well.

4 years, 3 months ago

I disagree.

I've known very unintelligent people who really enjoy debating bad ideas.

I've known very intelligent people who find debates emotionally taxing or fruitless.

I think it's more of an emotional perspective. You've got to be able to experience the emotions of contention without being stressed out by it. You have to be able to face the fact of being wrong with grace. If you can't do those things, you won't engage in lots of debates. Either you'll engage in none, or in a few where you slam the door, so to speak, on your opponent. You'll say "I thought this place was for debating, so I'm hitting the DELETE button! Bye bye!"

4 years, 3 months ago
Discuss "The intelligent find debates healthy the lesser find them unhealthy. Share your opinion" education entertainment philosophy
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.