What do you think about feminism please share you opinion

April 12, 2016, 6:33 am

Agree19 Disagree17

53%
47%

The debate "What do you think about feminism please share you opinion" was started by afwaza15 on April 12, 2016, 6:33 am. 19 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 17 people are on the disagree side. That might be enough to see the common perception. It looks like most of the people in this community are on the agreeing side of this statement.

StubSloth posted 3 arguments to the agreers part.
Dev posted 2 arguments, Daffa8799 posted 1 argument to the disagreers part.

amzar, StubSloth, J, mtdc_17, SwaggerPoptart, jack_tim_45, peaceguy, Gaurangi, RedWolf and 10 visitors agree.
ProudAmerican888, Dev, Daffa8799, blank, NotoriousBishop, Your_dad, Adrian and 10 visitors disagree.

StubSloth
replied to...

OK... so I would agree that feminism had gone beyond equality in some areas but at the same time, some of what you are saying is a little outdated. Women are very capable of working and men are very capable of managing a house and caring for children.
The reason for men being the primary source of income and societal growth throughout history is purely down to women not being given the opportunity to contribute. Girls were not educated or given the opportunities necessary to cultivate intelligence and skill, they were not taught trade or science and so how could they possibly contribute? Of course, that is not to say that women didn't contribute (there are many inspirational women who defied society and pushed for an education and excelled in the pursuit of knowledge) but that they were at a huge disadvantage and actively discouraged from participating in society outside of their own home.

I would also argue that men are treated unfairly. I would be very keen to advocate an increase in understanding towards the pressure placed upon them to maintain a strong, tough and masculine image. We should not call a man weak for crying nor judge him for staying at home and caring for children while his partner works. I believe in equal rights and opportunities for both genders and I believe that our capabilities are decided by us alone, not a predetermined gender role.

Not trying to pick a fight at all, and you are more than entitled to your opinion - I'm just trying to get some stimulation on a long school holiday! Would be interested to hear your opinion on what I have said:)

2 years, 2 months ago
Nemiroff
replied to...

absolutely, I'd love to hear you actually cite some of these actions that you support or find offensive, cause I haven't seen much in the way of feminist activites of any kind recently. seems Republicans just love making scapegoats from absolutely nothing.

2 years, 2 months ago
Person198
replied to...

I think you should judge groups and people based on what they do. not what they stand for or say what they do.

2 years, 2 months ago

"Seeing things as they are right know ,Men in particular are tied to the core by the laws governing us.marriage laws ,have sided with women regarding alimony and children possession. Women can't be disciplined when they go wrong. They can now wander around with 100 men when they fill like regardless whether they are married or not.It's like it's a girls' WORLD. Men (supremers) have no voice any more"

can't men also walk around with 100 women if they feel like?

and what do you mean women can't be disciplined? if they commit a crime, they get fined or jailed appropriately.

the only injustice is the courts and that is because of the original ideology that women are the caregivers that you are trying to promote.

is the only reason you give for female support (subservience) a biblical reference? in a secular society how is such reasoning supposed to be valid for followers of other faiths or those who do not recognize the authority of some ancient text?

2 years, 2 months ago
Gerald
replied to...

Seeing things as they are right know ,Men in particular are tied to the core by the laws governing us.marriage laws ,have sided with women regarding alimony and children possession. Women can't be disciplined when they go wrong. They can now wander around with 100 men when they fill like regardless whether they are married or not.It's like it's a girls' WORLD. Men (supremers) have no voice any more given that even the Bible says'Men should be the head and Women the neck (support in childbearing and family),'Never where the roles to change. Never were to have women compete with men,women were to support men in their endeavors. Currently, we are having family breakdowns with single parenthood becoming the norm(insufficient). We are also encountering rampant promiscuity and immorality in our society.We are not refuting women 'gender equality and supremacy' per se but we are aggritating on how the
said ideology has negatively implicated our society and will continue to do so. The patriarchal line is being Brocken (father-son bond) and something is amiss to today's men on their masculinity. For any healthy society, family bond and association should be at it's peek(Islam).

2 years, 2 months ago
Nemiroff
replied to...

every movement has its extremists, but unless you can demonstrate that the biggest or core part of the movement is bad, people who demonize groups based on their dumbest, loudest, and most extreme members are ignorant morons.

2 years, 2 months ago
SwaggerPoptart
replied to...

@Gerald, the women who push for supremacy and domination over men are NOT feminists. They may call themselves feminists, but what they are fighting for is not what feminism stands for. Women who label all men as criminals and rapists are not true feminists. You said that men are the ones who built this country and have established what we have today, but maybe it could have been better if women had the opportunity to help. In those times of establishment, it wasn't socially acceptable for women to do ANYTHING besides stay at home with the family. Throughout history, women haven't been able to do a lot of the same things as men. But recently, as equality has advanced, women have shown they can do many things BETTER than men. They do not need men to meet success. They have the ability to be independent, whether you believe it or not. Women do not need so called "masculine" men to help them become anything. However, even though these women are capable, they often do not receive the same opportunities as men. But that does not mean women are superior to men. Men do not need women for accomplishment either. The point of feminism is to allow men AND women to have equal opportunities and be viewed with equal potential. Real feminism does not discriminate against men. It fights for the right of men just as much as women.

2 years, 2 months ago

Feminism is bullshit.The so movement has been pushed to the extremes in many countries where they have evolved to be man haters and giving men names like potential rapists. Feminism so far has shames positive masculinity in our modern society bringing about Brocken homes. I think Feminism which evolved about 50years ago is a hay wad ideology in retaliation for the strong patriarchy which has been there since time immemorial. I think men and women can't be equal.For any prosperous male-female social dynamics ,men must be the stronger, powerful and stoic gender than the women. In marriage men must be masculine, stronger;financially, emotionally and physically than the women for it to last.Most of all, men have been the gender which has taken civilisation this far;the builders, conquers, creators,innovators and destroyers..given they have the stronger inducing hormone (teresterone).Feminists are bunch of women who feel bad for being the weaker gender and seeing that staying at home and raising their children as oppression.Even if they claim it,feminists do not believe in gender equality.Still the burden of performance is on men.The so called independent woman will still need and want a stronger ,powerful man than her to be happy. The reality stands,so let's stop confusing ourselves!!!

2 years, 2 months ago
StubSloth
replied to...

Spot on! If only every one thought that way:(

2 years, 2 months ago
J

In my opinion, feminism is a belief/concept that women and men have equal rights. I grew up in a society where women get oppressed and currently I am living in a country where women are valued and even treated better than men. This gives me some insights. I came to realize both men and women faced some kinds of discrimination because of their gender. Men and women have different needs. The society give us expectations based on gender. I totally like the idea of feminism. For me, gender equality is important, but if it means that one gender oppressed another, than it becomes wrong.

2 years, 2 months ago
PoliticsAsUsual
replied to...

I absolutely agree. family Court is very much antiman. and although the social expectations of men are not as bad as the expectations of women, breaking guy code has much bigger social consequences.

think a girl coming to school in jeans vs a guy coming in in a dress. one will get sneers about lacking femininity if that, the other will be met by shocked silence if he's lucky. (or might just come home bloody)

2 years, 3 months ago

I consider feminism as the act of wanting the same rights for women as there are for men. Under this definition, I would consider myself a feminist. However, I also think that men should have the same rights as women. In most cases, this is not massively relevant (usually it is the other way round) but i would quote custody as an example (surely the child should go to whoever is best suited as a parent or simply have equally split custody) as well as the pressure put on men to remain free from outward displays of emotion. so perhaps a better way to describe myself is an equalist!

2 years, 3 months ago
Dev
replied to...

It's my opinion -_-

2 years, 3 months ago

It is some type of gender equality, not a woman supremacy

2 years, 3 months ago

I think that it's now and days a cult of man-haters and mental defectives that do noting to help women. But hey that's just my opinion.

2 years, 3 months ago
Discuss "What do you think about feminism please share you opinion" family others people
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.