Why do people get offended so easily over an opinion

March 30, 2017, 10:24 pm

Agree23 Disagree4

85%
15%

The debate "Why do people get offended so easily over an opinion" was started by neveralone on March 30, 2017, 10:24 pm. 23 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 4 people are on the disagree side. People are starting to choose their side. It looks like most of the people in this community are on the agreeing side of this statement.

neveralone posted 2 arguments, M3phisto posted 2 arguments, Mrjudge posted 1 argument to the agreers part.
ototoxic posted 1 argument, M3phisto posted 1 argument to the disagreers part.

neveralone, M3phisto, mb2798, Ematio, thereal, Jericho, diana26, Mrjudge, TimRSA, MrLuke, ceedotrock, bernie2020, greencat and 10 visitors agree.
4 visitors disagree.

a lot of it has to do with political correctness no one wants to be wrong in an argument and so for a lot of pepole the idea of someone having a better or more correct statement and opinion then them offends them greatly.

2 years, 1 month ago

This actually happened to me haha. So i bought this really cute female dog. She was just new so she didnt have any female sign on her (you know like red ribbons or a cute collar). In the beginning people were just talking to her as if it was 'a dog'. A male dog. Each time i had to correct them on the 'she' not 'he' and whenever i heard someone speak about her in 'he' i felt not quite comfortable. But two weeks after that i realised i dont actually give a f***. Call her what you want, she has a pussy and she's female no matter how you call her. xD

Some people got used to the 'her', some not but hey, instead of trying to make everyone call her ''her'' (and putting all this effort for a pretty stupid thing). I just dont care anymore and the problem vanished away alone. For as long as you know who you are, you dont care about labels. You are a strong woman? Then dont ask to be considered so... that is weak. Instead, live your life as a strong woman and people will realise themselves what you are and treat you that way.

2 years, 1 month ago
M3phisto
replied to...

Getting offended easily is a sign of insecurity i think. Today, alot of people dont know how to deal with their insecurities. But there are also people who just carelessly talk whitout considering what might or not be offensive. You can send the same message trough different words. But when the 'offended' gets offended too easily then the problem becomes the offended because he just cant allow people to have free speech.

If i say 'you goatf*cker arab' to a muslim, it is offensive and he has the right to feel offended. (right? thereal)
If i say 'hey sir' to a transsexual and she gets offended, she has no right because you didnt actually intend to offend. Its just a custom, a habit. Those offended people should understand this kind of thing happens to anyone and should forgive more.

2 years, 1 month ago

that's just how society is right now

People arn't understanding and just want to make themselves look better...

It's a weird but it happens

2 years, 1 month ago

They are hurt by words. Pussies.

By they way, if i could give those people an advice it would be: ''Dont let yourself feel hurt, and you haven't been.''

Oh and i personally think people like this are toxic. Egoist, egocentrist, paranoic, insecure, unstable people do this. They dont understand that people have the right to have a different opinion. They think that at the end of a conversation both people have to agree on an opinion... they cant imagine just saying 'Hey, lets agree to disagree'.

2 years, 2 months ago

It tends to depend on the subject, and on the person in my experience.

Subjects that someone feels strongly about tend to upset people if you voice an opinion that disagrees with them. It gets taken as an attack on them personally, rather than a simple statement of opinion. Talk to a major sports fan and this is often seen.

There are also people who take everything personally. If you voice an opinion that disagrees with them, they take that as you telling them they are wrong. Sometimes they even take that to mean you think they are stupid.

2 years, 2 months ago
neveralone
replied to...

I have found in personal experience that outside this app people do get offended if u just simply give ur opinion

2 years, 2 months ago

It depends on the situation. If they're just sharing opinions, then there's usually no reason for either to get upset. When they start trying to assert their opinion as the right opinion or as fact, then it starts problems.

2 years, 2 months ago

thus isn't to hate on I'm just trying to understand why people get offended when someone doesn't agree with them on something.

2 years, 2 months ago
Discuss "Why do people get offended so easily over an opinion" pets philosophy
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.