You don't express your true opinion. You say what other people expect to hear from you

May 24, 2015, 11:25 am

Agree14 Disagree46

23%
77%

The debate "You don't express your true opinion. You say what other people expect to hear from you" was started by WordSpeller on May 24, 2015, 11:25 am. 14 people are on the agree side of this discussion, while 46 people are on the disagree side. That might be enough to see the common perception. It looks like most people are against to this statement.

action007man posted 1 argument, Lane posted 1 argument to the agreers part.
soullesschicken posted 1 argument, sloanstar1000 posted 1 argument, Tiger1738 posted 1 argument, Caesar posted 1 argument to the disagreers part.

WordSpeller, action007man, sdiop, InfiniBro, Lane, Katana_MC, ayu, Nelson, ailasorecarg and 5 visitors agree.
soullesschicken, toughgamerjerry, PsychDave, alma_theo, I_Voyager, Damn3d, queenmar497, Tristanzee, wayneSPEC, sloanstar1000, AstroSpace, Hellrazor, gouthamabi, Yuki_Amayane, xbulletwithbutterflywingsx, athinus, Tiger1738, abdulhadi, Skeetc15, Caesar, J_Blue, Hitmenjr, Sumerian, Robert16 and 22 visitors disagree.

To resume all, it all depends on the kind of person that you are, and the situation. I strongly believe you can't talk about this in general, because it is based on the situation.

3 years, 8 months ago

No, because if everyone agreed on the same thing all the time, it would be boring. I would rather give my own opinion and if it does cause any disputes,... "let's agree to disagree."

3 years, 8 months ago

it's true that it's a natural urge to conform with the majority and fit in, but I guess I've just given up on conforming altogether, that's why now at least one person has to disagree with almost all my comments on here lol.

Every argument I see, even if I would initially agree with it, I try to poke holes in it. Not because I'm vindictive, but that's how your opinions evolve, by challenging them and being critical of yourself.

3 years, 9 months ago

It happens automatically. Just about every person wants to conform to society. In the past, people who didn't were killed. That happens, but fortunately to a much lesser extent. Sometimes, like here on this app, you do express your true opinion. But in situations such as presidential debates where there is something to either win or lose, the candidate will, most of the time, say things to win people's votes rather than straight out what he believes. In every day life, it might happen in a religious setting; you don't typically tell a priest in a Christian church that a certain part of the religion is wrong. But it's all about natural desire to conform.

3 years, 9 months ago

sometimes for the people who we care about
sometimes to avoid getting a$$ kicked
sometimes not to break the hearts of people who cares about us
......
and ALWAYS to avoid an argument with an idiot ... ooh god

4 years ago

In some cases this is true, but if this was always true every atheist would say they were christian.

4 years ago
Discuss "You don't express your true opinion. You say what other people expect to hear from you" people philosophy society
Add an argument!
Use the arrow keys to navigate between statements. Press "A" to agree and press "D" to disagree.